Soy Lecithin

Shortened Question:

Can you please clarify your Fatwa on Soy Lecithin?

[Available at: http://www.askimam.org/public/question_detail/27496 ]

Question:

Salam,

From the fatwa

“If the Soy Lecithin is extracted from vegetables (plant based), then it will be permissible and Halal. However, if the soy lecithin is derived from non-plant based sources such as animal based, then there are many factors to consider before determining the permissibility of such a product, for example, method of slaughter.”

Isn’t Soy Lecithin always derived from Soy and hence plant based only? If it is derived from any other source it is Lecithin but not Soy lecithin.

Can you please clarify? JAzakillahu khairan ahsanl jazaa.

aseena

Answer:

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

You are correct. Soy Lecithin is derived from only soybean oil[1] which is a vegetable oil extracted from the seeds of the soybean (Glycine max) – a species of legume derived from plants in East Asia.

Lecithin, itself, is a general term employed for any group of yellow-brownish fatty substances which can encompass animal as well as plant tissue.

The correct sentence should have been:

“Soy Lecithin is permissible and Halal. However, if Lecithin is derived from non-plant based sources such as animal based, then there are many factors to consider before determining the permissibility of such a product, for example, the method of slaughter etc.”

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Hanif Yusuf Patel

Student Darul Iftaa
UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

 

DISCLAIMER:
The Ask Our Imam site hopes to respond to queries relating to Islamic law. It is not an Islamic Law Shari`ah Court. The questions and answers found on this website are for educational purposes. However, many of the rulings rendered here are distinct to the specific scenario and thus should be read in conjunction with the question and not taken as a basis to establish a verdict in another situation or environment. This site bears no responsibility in these responses being used out of their intended context, nor to any party who may or may not follow the responses given and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused. None of the responses rendered may be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of Our Imam. Any reference to another website or link provided in our responses or article should not be taken as an endorsement of all the content on that website; in fact, it is restricted to the particular material being cited.

Posted in Halaal & Haraam on 17th Jan 2016 by Our Imam | 480 Views